Scarlet O’Hara

Standard

I’ve fallen behind with my posts!  I blame it on busy workdays and short evenings.  Some nights I get home from a long day of work around the time other families are sitting down to watch their favourite “prime time” TV shows after having eaten dinner and cleaned up the kitchen.  My brain is fried, and truthfully, I’m a bit bitter that my evening is going to be so brief.  Because, as much as I want to enjoy a leisurely relaxing evening – I know I have to get up early, so getting home late doesn’t mean my evening begins later – it means my leisure time is cut short!  This was exactly the situation on a recent evening, when I arrived home to be greeted by my darlin’ with a cocktail recipe picked out, the necessary ingredients lined up on the counter and a kiss as I came through the door.   I exhale and the stresses of the day are instantly reduced!

I don’t know if it was coincidence, because this particular day the actress (Ann Rutherford) who played Scarlet’s sister, Carreen, had died at age 94.  I’m quite certain my honey had no idea!  But he made us a Scarlet O’Hara.  “Janis Joplin’s favourite drink was a Scarlet O’Hara” he says.  Then, a minute later, he says “Actually, I think it was Southern Comfort!” – the principle liquor in this cocktail.  In any event, it is a delicious concoction!  Slightly on the tart side, and not the least “boozy” – if you like a Cosmopolitan you’d like this!  We certainly did!

Scarlet O’Hara (serves 1)

1 1/2 ounces Southern Comfort

1 1/2 ounces Cranberry Juice

1/2 ounce Rose’s Lime Juice (real lime juice is too tart)

Garnish; maraschino cherry

Pour all ingredients except the garnish into a cocktail shaker filled with ice; mix well.  Strain into an old-fashioned glass filled with ice or a chilled martini glass.  Ass the garnish and enjoy!

About Cocktail Mistress

Just a normal person who loves her husband, children and family, loves to cook (and eat!) good food, enjoys fine wine and loves to travel. Believes that social justice matters, great shoes are more important than the outfit, and staying young is a state of mind. And oh yeah - a well-made cocktail always tastes better when shared!

Leave a comment